DE

Kopfzentrum GruppeIntranasal Drainage Index

Intranasal Drainage Index

How does my sinus system work?

The function of the nose and sinuses is complicated. Up to 100 individual sections are sometimes only connected with millimeter-small openings. The mucous membrane can swell up to 3 times the initial volume and thereby open or close entire sections. As a result, the nose, with its attached sinus system, regulates the production of up to one liter of nasal secretions per day, which simultaneously serves as a conditioner, moisturizer, antibiotic rug, and protection for the underlying mucosa. The function of the nose is a true medical marvel, but unfortunately also very error prone.

The assessment of the functionality of this system in the Cone Beam Computer Tomogram (CBCT, also DVT) is the high resolution for the first time in every detail possible. Unlike simple CT, there are no "wrong" openings or closures. However, the sheer amount of data is a problem for the evaluating physician. The risk of overlooking details or misinterpreting them in the three dimensions is great.

That is why KOPFZENTRUM® has developed a software together with SELCAL® that uses the Region Growing algorithms to evaluate the patient's data record. The computer "pours" a virtual fluid into the nasal system and analyzes in which sections it can penetrate without large pressure differences. The system simulates the real situation pretty well: millions of very fine ciliates (cilia) ensure a smooth and continuous transport of fluid secretions from cell to cell, from cavity to cell and finally through the nose into the throat. This self-cleaning function (mucociliary clearance, MCC) is perhaps the most important basic function of the human nose / sinuses. The Intranasal Drainage Index (IDI) describes the prerequisites for this function in 4 parameters:

> Volume nose / paranasal sinuses: how big is the whole system?
> Blocked cells: what is the volume of unconnected areas?
> Smallest measurable connections: where are the bottlenecks of the system concentrated?
> Drainage Index: What is the relationship between connected and
unconnected sections of the nose / sinus system?

The effort for this analysis is about 30 minutes of processing by a specially trained staff, about 3 hours of computing time on a high-performance computer and a current license of the software. For this, KOPFZENTRUM® calculates a co-payment of the patient of 95 Euro, in combination with a Cone-beam Computed Tomography (CBCT) of the nose of only 49 Euro. (As of July 2019).

Download Center

Intranasal Drainage Index (IDI)
Share via

EN

Kopfzentrum GruppeIntranasal Drainage Index

Intranasal Drainage Index

Wie funktioniert mein Nasennebenhöhlensystem?

Die Funktion der Nase und Nebenhöhlen ist kompliziert. Bis zu 100 einzelne Abschnitte sind teilweise nur mit millimeterkleinen Öffnungen verbunden. Die Schleimhaut kann bis zum 3fachen des Ausgangsvolumens anschwellen und dadurch ganze Abschnitte öffnen oder schließen. Dadurch reguliert die Nase mit dem angeschlossenen Nebenhöhlensystem die Produktion von bis zu einem Liter Nasensekret pro Tag, was gleichzeitig als Spülung, Befeuchtung, antibiotischer Teppich und Schutz für die darunter liegende Schleimhaut dient. Die Funktion der Nase ist ein echtes medizinisches Wunderwerk, leider aber auch sehr fehleranfällig.

Die Beurteilung der Funktionsfähigkeit dieses Systems im Cone Beam Computer Tomogramm (CBCT, auch DVT) ist durch die hohe Auflösung erstmals in jedem Detail möglich. Im Unterschied zum einfachen CT gibt es keine „falschen“ Öffnungen oder Verschlüsse. Allerdings ist die reine Menge an Daten für den auswertenden Arzt ein Problem. Das Risiko, Details zu übersehen oder in den drei Dimensionen falsch zu interpretieren, ist groß.

Deshalb hat KOPFZENTRUM® gemeinsam mit SELCAL® eine Software entwickelt, die mit Hilfe von Region Growing“ Algorithmen den Datensatz des Patienten auswertet. Der Computer „gießt“ dabei eine virtuelle Flüssigkeit in das Nasensystem und analysiert, in welche Abschnitte diese ohne große Druckunterschiede vordringen kann. Damit simuliert das System ziemlich genau die reale Situation: Millionen feinster Flimmerhärchen (Zilien) sorgen für einen geschmeidigen und kontinuierlichen Transport von dünnflüssigen Sekret von Zelle zu Zelle, von Höhle zu Höhle und schließlich über die Nase in den Rachen. Diese Selbstreinigungsfunktion (Mukoziliäre Clearance, MCC) ist vielleicht die wichtigste Grundfunktion der menschlichen Nase/Nasennebenhöhlen. Der Intranasal Drainage Index (IDI) beschreibt in 4 Parametern die Voraussetzungen für diese Funktion:

>    Volumen Nase/Nasennebenhöhlen: wie groß ist das Gesamtsystem?
>    Blockierte Zellen: wie groß ist das Volumen nicht-angeschlossener Areale?
>    Kleinste messbare Verbindungen: wo konzentrieren sich die Engstellen des Systems?
>    Drainage Index: Wie ist das Verhältnis zwischen angeschlossenen und 
    nicht angeschlossenen Abschnitten des Nasen-/Nasennebenhöhlensystems?

Der Aufwand für diese Analyse beträgt ca. 30 Minuten Bearbeitung durch einen speziell geschulten Mitarbeiter, ca. 3 Stunden Rechenzeit auf einem Hochleistungsrechner und eine aktuelle Lizenz der Software. Dafür berechnet KOPFZENTRUM® eine Zuzahlung des Patienten von 95 Euro, in Kombination mit einem Cone-beam Computertomographie (CBCT) der Nase von nur 49 Euro. (Stand Juli 2019).

Download-Center

Intranasal Drainage Index (IDI)
Teilen per